2017 Competition

2017 First-Prize Winner:

Alcee Chriss III
Alcee Chriss III

Winner of the 2017 Canadian International Organ Competition and Firmin Swinnen Silver Medalist at the 2016 Longwood Gardens International Organ Competition, Alcee Chriss III is widely regarded as one of the leading young organists of our time. He has been celebrated for his “grace, skill and abundant proficiency” by the Journal Assist News, Albuquerque. And of his prize-winning performance at the Longwood Gardens Competition, Choir and Organ Magazine declared, “Chriss stole the show.” Dr. Chriss has performed throughout the United States, Canada, and France. Recent and upcoming performances include the 2020 National AGO convention in Atlanta, the Organ Historical Society’s 2019 convention (Dallas, TX), Riverside Church (NYC), John F. Kennedy Center, and Washington National Cathedral, among others. In July 2019, Chriss was appointed as University Organist and Artist-in-Residence at Wesleyan University, where he teaches courses in organ and applied music. In October 2019, Alcee was awarded his Doctorate of Music degree from McGill University, where he studied with Hans-Ola Ericsson. He previously studied at Oberlin Conservatory of Music where he received his Master’s degree in historical keyboard and a Bachelor’s degree in Organ Performance. At Oberlin, he studied organ with James David Christie and Olivier Latry, improvisation with Marie-Louise Langlais, and harpsichord and continuo playing with Webb Wiggins and Hank Knox. In addition to his organ and harpsichord performances, Alcee is also active as a church musician, conductor and jazz pianist. He currently serves as the Minister of Music at Saint Stephen’s Episcopal Church in Ridgefield, CT.

Other 2017 CIOC Winners:

  • 2nd Prize: Oliver Brett, United-Kingdom
  • 3rd Prize: Nicholas Capozzoli, United-States
  • Royal Canadian College of Organists Prize: Oliver Brett, United-Kingdom
  • Richard-Bradshaw Audience Prize: Yuan Shen, China
  • Bach Prize: Alcee Chriss III, United States
  • Spinelli Prize: Alcee Chriss III, United-States